Serie A Fast Facts

Serie A is a professional soccer league with 20 clubs located across Italy and is also referred to as Serie A TIM. Each club plays 38 regular season games (two against each club), beginning in August and concluding in May.

Serie A does not have playoffs. The club with the most points at the end of the regular season is champion.

Serie A Promotion & Relegation

The 18th, 19th, and 20th worst regular season clubs in Serie A are automatically demoted at season’s end. The 1st and 2nd place Serie B clubs are automatically promoted to Serie A. If the 3rd place club is 10+ points ahead of the 4th place club, it is automatically promoted. Otherwise, a playoff tournament determines the third club for promotion to Serie A.

Serie A International Competition

The 1st thru 4th place clubs in Serie A qualify automatically for the group phase of UEFA Champions League; 5th and 6th place qualify for UEFA Europa League.