Major League Soccer Fast Facts

Major League Soccer (MLS) is a professional soccer league with 28 clubs located across the United States and Canada.

MLS Regular Season

Each MLS club plays 34 regular season matches beginning in February and ending in October.

MLS Cup Playoffs

The MLS Cup Playoffs are a fixed-bracket, single-elimination format with 14 total clubs (seven from each conference). The top seeds in each conference get a first-round bye in the playoffs. The higher seed plays host during the playoffs. Playoff games ending in a draw after regulation go to two 15-minute extra-time periods and then penalty kicks if still not decided.

MLS International Competition

The Campeones Cup is an annual contest between the MLS champion and Liga MX champion. Leagues Cup is an annual competition with eight MLS and Liga MX clubs (July – Sept).