English Premier League Fast Facts

English Premier League (EPL) is a professional soccer league with 20 clubs located across the UK. Each EPL club plays 38 regular season matches from August through May.

EPL does not have championship playoffs. The squad with the most points at the end of the regular season is crowned champion.

EPL Promotion & Relegation

Each year, the 18th, 19th, and 20th ranked clubs in EPL are relegated to the English Football League Championship (level 2). Meanwhile, the top two clubs in level 2 are automatically promoted to EPL; next four ranked clubs compete in the playoffs, to determine the third promotion spot.

EPL International Competition

The 1st thru 4th place clubs in EPL qualify automatically for the group phase of UEFA Champions League; 5th and 6th place qualify for UEFA Europa League.