National Football League Fast Facts

National Football League (NFL) is a professional football league with 32 teams located across the United States. The league is comprised of two conferences American (AFC) and National (NFC). Each conference contains four divisions with 16 total teams.

NFL Regular Season

Each NFL team plays 17 regular season games beginning in early September and running through the end of December.

NFL Playoffs

Playoffs include the top six teams from each conference. All four division winners in each conference automatically qualify for the playoffs. Each conference sends two wild card teams to the playoffs. The top two regular season teams in each conference earn a 1st round bye in the NFL playoffs.

NFL Super Bowl

The NFL Super Bowl is the annual championship game played in early February.